Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Every time I see all those bananas piled up high in the grocery store in their tantalising yellow aura, promises of sunshine and sandy beaches, I’m drawn to them immediately! I buy a nice big bunch and I will eat one or maybe even two right away on the drive home. I’ll eat another one the next day and maybe another one the day after, and then I just forget about them and they sit on the kitchen counter day after day while their yellow aura starts to fade. They become a dark shadow of the fruit they once were. It’s just sad! That’s when banana math has failed you! Or more accurately you’ve failed the banana math! I should have just bought 4, but I couldn’t help myself and bought a huge bunch of 7 instead!

Aged Bananas

Aged Bananas

It’s time to give those tired old bananas a good new life in the form of banana bread! What the banana lacked as a youth they have plenty of as an aged fruit, and that’s sweetness, perfect for a loaf, cake, cookies or any other desert you’d like a touch of sweetness and a little less processed sugar. A long time ago I had a recipe for banana bread that had either Kahlua or strong coffee just to give it that little bit of somethin’ somethin’! But I was never able to find it, so no problem, I came up with my own. I have tweaked this recipe a bit here and a bit there, and I’m sure I’ll tweak it some more. In fact I think this one didn’t have enough of that coffee flavour, so either just leave out the Kahlua, or add a bit more.

Ingredients:

In goes the Banana Bread

In goes the Banana Bread

1/2 cup soy or almond milk plus 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 cup bananas (about 3), mashed
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 oz Kahlua
2 cup unbleached All purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional – as if it’s optional, just do it)
1/2 cup walnuts, or pecans (optional – but seriously you should!)

Add the vinegar to your non-dairy milk and let it sit in the measuring cup or any ol’ cup will do, and let it curdle while you mash up the bananas. Mix sugars with the mashed up bananas, add the Kahlua, vanilla and the curdled non-dairy milk and mix well. In another bowl mix all the dry ingredients except the chocolate chips and the nuts. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well. If the mixture looks too wet, add some more flour a tablespoon at a time. It really depends on the ripeness of your banana, as the ripper your bananas are the more moisture they holds. I’ve added up to 1/3 cup more flour because my bananas were basically mush. Finally add the chocolate chips and walnuts and fold them into the dough. If you haven’t done so do it now, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Celsius. Pour the batter into a greased 9 x 5 x 13 loaf pan, bang it up on the kitchen counter to even out the dough in the pan and bake for an hour. If the knife test comes out clean with no stuck on batter, then it’s baked all the way through. If not then bake it at 2 minute intervals until it passes the knife test. Cool on a rack for a few minutes before cutting up slices and devouring it with some Earth Balance.

What a loaf of banana bread!

What a loaf of banana bread!

You might notice that there isn’t any oil in the ingredients list. In all honesty I forgot it when I was making the loaf this time around. But I didn’t even notice it as far as taste was concerned. You are more than welcome to add 1/3 cup oil to the wet ingredients, or have an extra bit Earth Balance when you’ve toasted a slice as I did. If you can hold yourself back from the Earth Balance, a nice thick slice of this banana bread has only 255 calories per slice, 10% of your daily iron, and a whopping 200 mg of potassium. It’s also high in Folate, Magnesium, Vitamin B-6 and Thiamin from the walnuts! But most importantly it’s delicious and I passed the Banana Math by using up all the bananas I bought from the grocery store!

